The Fast

Last night I started reading this book (7: An Experimental Mutingy Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker, for those of you who are as curious as I am when someone makes a vague comment like that). It’s the new Bloom Book Club pick (from the inCourage blog I stalk daily).

Confession: I was going to skip this book at first. Then I looked into it and did my research (a.k.a. my internet stalking).

I found glowing reviews left and right. That this book was a LIFE CHANGER. Well, okay then. I could use some change in my life, conveniently enough. Let’s give this thing a shot.

So I started reading. Basic idea (for those of you who don’t internet stalk research the way I do) is that Jen decided to try out an experiment and write a book on it. For 7 (well, more like 10 apparently) months she gave up 7 things – one area per month. She cut back, she challenged herself, she purposefully fasted from something and gave up her excess and gave it all up to God. To leave more room for His Spirit in her life.

I’m a little bit nervous at this point. Just a tad. (Oh, but by the way. Jen’s funny. I wasn’t expecting that, since I hadn’t even read her blog before starting the book, but she is. She has this dry sense of humour that I just LOVE. But her writing is very poignant, as well.)

The first month is on food. AMAZING. This is just PERFECT. Some of you may know this (and by some, I mean the 2 people who may actually bother reading this) but I’ve been (halfheartedly) trying to lose weight for something like 9 months now. Well, that’s how it started anyways.

Here’s what I’ve learned from that journey: I am a slave to my cravings. A SLAVE. I have approximately ZERO ability of telling myself, “NO, YOU WILL NOT EAT THAT. STEP AWAY.” Which may not sound like a big deal at first. Until you think about it. How is it that I can feed my body with junk so often, and struggle so much with giving it up? And, in my humble opinion, this is a sin area in my life. If I can’t step away from something and relinquish control to God – even KNOWING that I’m abusing food in my life – then that is problematic. There’s no way of glossing it over.

It’s an area I’ve been seriously convincted in lately. I’ve read books on it (and I highly recommend the two I read, Made to Crave and Every Body Matters). I’m ready to confront it and give it up to my Lord.

Right, so back to 7. The first month is food. Jen challenges herself to only eat 7 foods for the first month. SEVEN. The challenge is for me to do the same.

Did I mention I was a tad nervous? I’m shaking in my boots by this point. Because this sounds HARD.

Have you ever tried to narrow down the 7 foods you’ll allow yourself to eat for an ENTIRE MONTH? What kind of crazy person does this? Me. I’m about to be “that crazy person” starving for change.

Now, I’ll still be attempting to follow the low carb/high protein diet I’ve been trying to follow. So don’t mind me if I cheat just a wee bit.

  1. Poultry – I know, I know. I’m cheating a bit by lumping chicken and turkey into one. But really, they taste so similar.
  2. Beef – I like my red meat. I’m okay with that. I NEED MY PROTEIN.
  3. Spinach – I’m not HUGE on spinach, but I’m adapting to it and it really is loaded with nutrients I need plus it’s extremely versatile.
  4. Broccoli – Because I LOVE my broccoli and it’s so, so good for you.
  5. Cheese – I love cheese. I know some people say it’s not good for you, but I say that all depends on the cheese. And how much you eat it. But I have some every morning for breakfast (I’m not much of a breakfast person, but I have this along with my liquids).
  6. Cauliflower – Again, very versatile. And it goes nicely with my other options.
  7. Protein powder – I wasn’t even going to count this one at first, then I realized that I better do that. I use this as a supplement throughout my day since I’m eating SO high in protein. And my Vegegreen powder.

And I’m keeping my tea. I drink green tea and my night time tea to help me sleep. Tea barely counts, right? Now this is where I AM cheating just a little bit: I have bananas before my weight training work outs for the extra carbs/energy. I’ll admit it, that’s basically cheating. But I don’t have them THAT often.

Other than that, I’m sticking to just oil (olive), vinegar, salt and pepper. And water, of course.

It’s important to me that I do my best to stick to the diet changes I’ve already been attempting to make – but more importantly, that I use this as a time to hand over my struggles to God. To lay them at the feet of Christ and just let Him take over from here on out. To realize how blessed I am to have all of these options that I’m able to narrow down my food choices to 7. To treat my body as a temple and give it the respect and fuel it needs.

To begin this change, one baby step at a time.

3 thoughts on “The Fast

  1. I like this..have you heard of the book Voluntary Simplicity by Duane Elgin? Sort of the same idea, but with different aspects of your life. Sounds like a tough challenge- and reminds me a little too much of years of allergy testing by elimination diets!

  2. ok..I love you. and the way you think..and the way you write…

    ..well.. I supposed I already loved you and how you think..

    but now i can add that I love how you write.

    Yay for you..and yay for me.

Leave a Reply

